People


S. Mostafa Ghiaasiaan, PhD, PE

Director, GT Cryo Lab
Professor, GWW School of Mechanical Engineering
Executive Editor, Annals of Nuclear Energy

Email: mghiaasiaan@me.gatech.edu
More Information can be found here and here.

Collaborators


Georgia Tech
Carl S. Kirkconnell, PhD, PE

President, West Coast Solutions

Founding Doctoral Candidate, Georgia Tech Cryo Lab

PhD Topic: Numerical analysis of the mass flow and thermal behavior in high-frequency pulse tubes
MS Thesis: Experiments on the stability characteristics of an unsteady circular Couette flow

Email: carlk@wecoso.com
More Information can be found here.
West Coast Solutions





Mihir G. Pathak, PhD.

Investment Management, McKinsey & Company - MIO Partners

PhD Topic: Periodic Flow Physics in Porous Media of Regenerative Cryocoolers
MS Thesis: Thermal Dispersion and Convective Heat Transfer during Laminar Pulsating Flow in Porous Media

Email: mihir_pathak@mckinsey.com
or mihir_pathak@miopartners.com
More Information can be found here.
NASA


Chart
Thomas I. Mulcahey, PhD

Manager, Advanced Development, CSA Medical, Inc.

PhD Topic: Convective Instability of Oscillatory Flow in Pulse Tube Cryocoolers due to Asymmetric Gravitational Body Force
MS Thesis: Autonomous cricket biosensors for acoustic localization

Email: TMulcahey@csamedical.com
More Information can be found here.
IRIS Technology
Mitchell Walker, PhD

Director, High-Power Electric Propulsion Laboratory at GT
Associate Professor, DG School of Aerospace Engineering

Email: mitchell.walker@aerospace.gatech.edu
More Information can be found here and here.
Raytheon
Prateen V. Desai, PhD

Professor Emeritus, GWW School of Mechanical Engineering

Email: prateen.desai@me.gatech.edu
More Information can be found here.
HPEPL


Creare
Jeremy P. Harvey, PhD

Porous Media Engineer, Oil Field Services, Schulmberger

PhD Topic: Oscillatory Compressible Flow and Heat Transfer in Porous Media & Application to Cryocooler Regenerators
MS Thesis: Parametric Study of Cryocooler Regenerator Performance

Email: jeremy.p.harvey@gmail.com
More Information can be found here.



Muhammad Akbar, PhD

Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Tennessee State University

PhD Topic: Transport Phenomena in Complex Two and Three-Phase Flow Systems Application: CFD techniques in microchannel and minichannels, aerosol transport, gas-pulp-water three phase flow.
MS Thesis: Turbulent Dispersed Particulate Flow in a Zigzag Channel

Email: makbar@tnstate.edu
More Information can be found here.



Jeff Cha, PhD

Instrument Cryogenic Systems Engineer, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

PhD Topic: Hydrodynamic Parameters of Micro Porous Media for Steady and Oscillatory Flow: Application to Cryocooler Regenerators
MS Thesis: CFD Simulation of Multi-dimensional Effects in Inertance Tube Pulse Tube Cryocoolers

Email: JCha@jpl.nasa.gov
More Information can be found here.



Theodore J. Conrad, PhD

Senior Mechanical Engineer, Space and Airborne Systems, Raytheon

PhD Topic: Miniaturized Pulse Tube Refrigerators

Email: Theodore.J.Conrad@raytheon.com
More Information can be found here.








Thomas M. Roberts, MS

Space Vehicle Directorate, Kirtland Air Force Base, Air Force Research Laboratory

Email: thomas.roberts@kirtland.af.mil
More Information can be found here.






Will M. Clearman , MS

Ship Signature Engineer, Center Carderock Division, Naval Surface Warfare

MS Thesis: Measurement and Correlation of Directional Permeability and Forchheimer's Coefficient of Micro Porous Structures Used in Pulse-Tube Cryocoolers

Email: william.clearman@navy.mil
More Information can be found here.
Brian K. Stewart, MS

Project Manager, Langley Research Center, NASA

MS Thesis: Development of a Thin Film Evaporative Cooling
System for a High Energy Thulium: Lutetium Lithium
Fluoride Solid-State Laser Oscillator Crystal


Email: brian.k.stewart@nasa.gov
More Information can be found here.
Evan C. Landrum, MS

Thermal Designer Engineer, Transitions & Casings Group, Gas Turbine Engineering, Siemens

MS Thesis: Anisotropic Parameters of Mesh Fillers Relevant to Miniature Cryocoolers

Email: evan.landrum@siemens.com
More Information can be found here.
Tao Fang, MS, PhD Candidate

PhD Candidate, GT Cryo Lab
Research Assistant, GWW School of Mechanical Engineering

Tentative PhD Topic: The Effects Of Tilt Angle On Acoustic-Stirling (Pulse Tube) Cryocoolers

Email: t.fang0025@gmail.com
More Information can be found here.
Mallik R. Ahmed, PhD Candidate

Research Engineer, R&D, WC Bradley Co. Columbus, GA

PhD Topic: TBD
MS Thesis: Computational and Experimental Analysis of the Effectiveness of Argon Reservoir of Nuclear Reactor.

Email: gth124a@gatech.edu
More Information can be found here.
Matthew Drake Perrella, MS, PhD Candidate

PhD Candidate, GT Cryo Lab
Research Assistant, GWW School of Mechanical Engineering

Tentative PhD Topic: Periodic Flow Hydrodynamics Resistance Parameters for ErPr and SS Regenerator Material at Cryogenic Temperatures

Email: mperrella6@gatech.edu
More Information can be found here.
Veera Manek, PhD Candidate

PhD Candidate, GT Cryo Lab

PhD Topic: Distillation-Assisted Removal of Contaminant from Liquefied Natural Gas
MS Thesis: Reduced basis model for multi-injector liquid propellant rocket engine using LES turbulent combustion

Email: veera@gatech.edu
More Information can be found here.
Michael R Baldwin, MS

Teaching Assistant, GWW School of Mechanical Engineering

MS Thesis: Relative Permeability and Passability for Two-Phase Flow in Packed Porous Beds

Email: mbaldwin8@gatech.edu
Yi "Vanessa" Wei, MS

Teaching Assistant, GWW School of Mechanical Engineering

MS Thesis: Boiling and Two-Phase Flow of Cryogens in Helicoidally Coiled Flow Passages

Email: ywei48@gatech.edu